Fringe News

Winners: Fringe Awards 2016

25 September 2016

Winners: Fringe Awards 2016

Fringe Awards recognise, reward and celebrate the hard work and talent on display in the festival each year. In 2016, 645 artists brought their intelligence, heart, vision and drive to projects at the festival. The Awards hope to honour and acknowledge some of the stand-outs. After 412 performances of 73 shows in 23 venues across the city, here are the winners of the Fringe Awards 2016:

Best Production Award: RIOT
Nominees: Bite Me – Joanne McNally / Hot Brown Honey / Hope Hunt – Oona Doherty / Nautilus – Trygve Wakenshaw / RIOT – THISISPOPBABY / This Beach – Brokentalkers

Best Design Award: This Beach
Nominees: Glowworm for Overall Design – Production Designer Hanna Bowe, Sound Design by Dylan Tonge Jones, Lighting Design by Hanna Bowe, Art Department: Sue Crawford, Seán Martin, Claudia Lemontea and Niamh Cooke, Corentin West and Gary Maguire / Hot Brown Honey for Overall Design - Director, Production Design, Costume Design: Lisa Fa'alafi, Original Concept: Lisa Fa’ alafi, Candy Bowers and Busty Beatz, Lighting Design by Paul Lim. Set by Tristan Shelly, Composer and Sound Designer Busty Beatz / Reassembled, Slightly Askew for Overall Design – Shannon Yee presented by the Complex, Creator Shannon Yee and Composer/Sonic Artist Paul Stapleton / Start With A Circle for Overall Design by Jack Phelan, Sound Design/Composer Dunk Murphy / This Beach by Brokentalkers for Overall Design – Costume and Scenic Design by Sabine Dargent, Lighting Design by Sarah Jane Shiels, Sound Design by Jack Cawley / The Perfect Wagner Rite for Visual Design, design by Aoibheann Greenan

Best Performers Awards: Trygve Wakenshaw, Nautilus and Oona Doherty, Hope Hunt
Nominees: Ashleigh Dorrell – Animalia / Emmet Kirwan – RIOT / Jinkx Monsoon – The Vaudevillians / Joanne McNally – Bite Me / Liz Peterson – Performance about a Woman / Margaret McAuliffe – The Humours of Bandon / Oona Doherty – Hope Hunt / Sarah Gordon – A Sinkhole in Guatemala / Trygve Wakenshaw – Nautilus / Vickey Curtis – Finem Respice

Best Ensemble Award: Rusangano Family
Half Light / Hot Brown Honey / HOSTEL 16 / Rusangano Family / The Definitive View by Sneachta Ní Mhurchú

Judge’s Choice Award: Very Rich Hours
Gays Against the Free State! – Oisin McKenna / George Bush and Children – Dick Walsh Theatre and Pan Pan / Reassembled, Slightly Askew – Shannon Yee / Very Rich Hours – TableTop Productions

Fishamble New Writing Award: Animalia by Ian Toner
Animalia by Ian Toner / BlackCatfishMusketeer by Dylan Coburn Gray / Coast by Tracy Martin / TRYST by Finbarr Doyle and Jeda de Bri

First Fortnight Award: Half Light
Bite Me – Joanne McNally / Coast – Red Bear Productions / Dysmorphin’ Time – Davey Reilly / Half Light – Mollie Molumby / Reassembled, Slightly Askew – Shannon Yee

Next Stage Wild Card Award: Hanna Bowe

Bewley’s Café Theatre Little Gem Award: The Humours of Bandon
Animalia – Ian Toner / Glowworm – Umbrella Theatre Project / Mimes in Time – DREAMGUN / The Definitive View with Sneachta Ní Mhurchú – The Brownbread Mixtape / The Humours of Bandon – Margaret McAuliffe

Gift Vouchers